A Belated “Who” and “Why”

Just noticed that I got my first assignment from the Blogging University of WordPress.com. Thought I might as well do this, what’s the worst that can happen, right?

(Queue piano falling down from the ceiling as a thunderstorm breaks out)

I’ve kept a diary on and off since I was about seven. The best part is starting it off – everything is clean and tidy and pretty and oh so full of potential. I never finish them, very rarely do I get past the first half. By that point I feel accomplished enough to start a fresh one. As a result, I have a LOT of old diaries stashed away.
It’s not exactly the same with blogs, but I still find myself starting a new one every few years.
This particular blog is a way for me to keep motivated as I draw. Not only will I get to compare past works to present, but I will also have to produce some kind of result daily. I know that I won’t be able to post every single day, but I hope those days will be an exception rather than the rule.

There are a few projects  I’m itching to do, and I plan to document the entire process. I find writing things down helps me learn and understand them better.

Another big part of why I’m doing this is to find like-minded people to share the drawing experiences with. Surrounding oneself with comrads-in-pencil is super motivating, and significantly improves the learning curve.

As for the “who”…  I live in Jerusalem with my husband, baby and two weird cats. After my army service, I went to study Animation in the Bezalel Academy of Arts, but then life happened and I dropped out during my third year. I’ve worked various non-art-related jobs since then, until I got pregnant. I’m currently a stay-at-home mom, with less free time on my hands than I originally anticipated, but I still aim to squeeze a more-or-less acceptable portfolio creation into the next two years.

I think this mostly covers it. I found a selfie I took back when my cats were kittens. I taught one of them, Sunneh, to climb and sit on my shoulder like a parrot, which seemed like a great idea back when he was tiny, and it was cold so I always wore a thick sweater…

catselfie

One thought on “A Belated “Who” and “Why””

  1. Hi, I’ve done the same Blogging Fundamentals class as you and now I’m taking a stroll around the neighbourhood to say ‘hello.’ I don’t draw, I write, but I do appreciate and enjoy visual arts. drop in to my site, maybe you’ll enjoy the sights. https://dermotthayes.com/

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.