A Big Fat List of Future Plans

I have been bursting with ideas lately, in addition to the few projects I’m working on already. The way I’m currently doing things, which consists of randomly progressing a tiny bit periodically on some of them, isn’t very productive or effective. In the hope of somehow organising my time and resources better, here’s the Big Fat List of Things I wish I had more time for:

 

  1. Illustrating a book of short stories by George Pluzhnikov

010-svoloch

This is my first time illustrating a book for real. I’ve been working on this since October, and I’m mostly done. There are 35 short stories, each illustrated by a full-page drawing, and I’m currently creating decorative letter elements for the second part of the book. It hasn’t been decided how we’re going to handle the third part yet, and I’m a little nervous about it. Plus I might be doing the cover as well, and I’d rather not think about it right now because I might have a panic attack.
The people I’m working with requested a “sketchy” style, and it took me a long time and many do-overs to settle on how I’m going to do it. I’m pretty happy with the overall result – it’s close to what my default “handwriting” is, and I’ve added elements to unify the extremely different subjects I’ve had to tackle.
The crying girl illustration is for the short story “Svoloch” (roughly translated as “Bastard”).

Continue reading “A Big Fat List of Future Plans”